Race Recap: Dan O'Brien Wins MileStat XC in 15:13!

There was no clear favorite heading into the race but after two miles, it was clear there was one guy better than the rest. That guy was Daniel O'Brien of Virginia Episcopal who went on to win the individual title in 15:13. That is one of the fastest times ever run on this course and he is only a junior too. 

Photo Coverage - Race Videos 

Behind him was Chase Osborne in second (15:28) and finishing third was Luke Tewalt (15:39) from DC. W.T. Woodson won the team title and Deep Run finished second. 

The race itself went out pretty fast with a group of seven guys all together thru the first half of the race. It wasn't until that long uphill on the second road crossing that Dan was able to pull away from Chase and the field. 

Boys' A Top 20

1Daniel O'Brien11Virginia Episcopal School15:13.00
2Chase Osborne12Western Branch High School15:28.00
3Luke Tewalt11Washington Latin Public Charter HS15:39.00
4Jackson Leech12W.T. Woodson15:43.00
5Joshua Shackelford12Gloucester High School15:45.00
6Colby Burcham*11Deep Run15:48.00
7Bryce Lentz10Colgan High School15:49.00
8Jack Rosencrans12North Shore15:50.00
9Connor Hayes10Lexington Christian15:53.00
10Silas Mathew12James W. Robinson15:55.00
11Theo Woods12E.C. Glass15:55.00
12Kevin Murphy12James Madison16:01.00
13Kameron Helmlinger12Atlee16:02.00
14Aaron Johnson12James River (Midlothian)16:04.00
15Casey Evans12Clover Hill16:04.00
16Avery Witherow*12Lee-Davis16:05.00
17Noah Hester12James River (Midlothian)16:05.00
18Ethan Mills12Christiansburg16:06.00
19Brenner Beard11Lafayette16:06.00
20Mitch Dolby12James Monroe16:09.00