Tapering
09/27/2018 1:19:39 PM
Coach
SUBSCRIBER
I feel like I'm not good at getting my runners to peak when I want them to (Regionals for most of them, States for one two). Any advice on what you try to do differently as you approach that BIG race? I have been so unsuccessful that I wonder if I should be tapering at all. I also feel like my decent boys teams didn't respond to tapering very well at all, but the girls' teams that were pretty good did. Anyone go any theories on this? Or maybe, it's just an art, and I'm not much of an artist. That's definitely possible.
I feel like I'm not good at getting my runners to peak when I want them to (Regionals for most of them, States for one two).

Any advice on what you try to do differently as you approach that BIG race?

I have been so unsuccessful that I wonder if I should be tapering at all.

I also feel like my decent boys teams didn't respond to tapering very well at all, but the girls' teams that were pretty good did. Anyone go any theories on this?

Or maybe, it's just an art, and I'm not much of an artist. That's definitely possible.
09/27/2018 8:33:25 PM
Coach
SUBSCRIBER
@mattymath I've moved away from tapering too much, it seems to make the runners feel flat going into races more than they want. They seem to prefer keeping a level of effort up. I may decrease the intensity of the workout a little bit but keep up the volume and maintain some good high quality strides mid way through the week. The past few seasons I've been keeping mileage fairly consistent for the last month or so leading into a big competition.