Nayan Kasperowski Breaks Drew Hunter's VA State Record!

South County star Nayan Kasperowski cemented himself in history on Saturday by winning the VHSL Class 6 state title while also breaking Drew Hunter's former course record at Oatlands. 

Nayan's winning time of 15:09 bested Hunter's 15:12 set back in 2015. 

Related Links: 

Meet Results 

Race Videos, Interviews

Meet Photos

The Class 6 race was supposed to be one of the most anticipated races of the day -- it certainly lived up to the hype.

Opening up the race fast and remaining near the front, the first two miles were brought in by Kasperowski, Junior Allen, Brady Brennan, Tristan Thurneysen, and Hayden Goodman.

All five runners shared a part of the lead throughout the race. 

Early on, though, it was Brennan who pushed the pace. However, he could not shake the other four. 

They alternated leaders until just past two miles, and that's when Kasperowski made his move alongside Thurneysen. 

Ultimately it was Kasperowski pulling away for the win. 

Thurneysen will be the early favorite for next year, however, as him, Brennan and Goodman all return. 

In the team title hunt, it was Woodbridge winning the crown over Lake Braddock, 62 to 86.