VHSL Group 3A/4A State Outdoor T&F Championships 2018

• Timothy Moon
    Coach
    PRO
    tdmoon
    With the forecast calling for so much rain / thunderstorms, would they ever consider moving the meet to Mon/Tues? Or is there an alternate plan in place? Thanks.
  • Coach
    PRO
    kshirk
    Here's how I understand it...I'm just a coach, so I could certainly be wrong...

The current alternate plans, if weather were to prevent the meet from proceeding as scheduled are:
    A. If Friday events can not take place or conclude, condense it to a single day on Saturday.
    B. If Saturday can not take place or conclude, move it or complete it on Sunday.

Schools were asked a week or two ago by the VHSL to provide permission from their superintendents to compete on Sunday.
  • Justin Adams
    User
    PRO
    J_ADAMS
    Just saw this on the VHSL Website.

Due to updated weather forecasts, all state meets will use a rolling schedule beginning Saturday, June 2 when the running events begin. The rolling schedule will start at 11:00 AM at East Rockingham and Harrisonburg High School. The meet at Todd Stadium will begin a rolling schedule at 12 noon.

https://www.vhsl.org/
  • Timothy Moon
    Coach
    PRO
    tdmoon
    Thank you for the information. I was just wondering if they would ever consider rescheduling the whole thing. Since it is the state meet and a big deal to a lot of athletes, just thought maybe moving it to another two-days when skies are clear and kids can perform their best could be looked at as a potential solution. But I also understand that things are hard to move this late in the game. Fingers crossed that the weather holds up! Best of luck to all!
  • User
    PRO
    rsullins
    The 2 issues I see with moving the state track meet are coming into conflict with other playoffs. There are athletes scattered in many areas that double up in the spring w/ baseball/soccer/softball.