Meet Information

Eleventh Annual Randy Smith Classic

Hosted by: John S. Battle High School

When- Thursday, September 28, 2017

Where- Sugar Hollow Park, Bristol, Virginia

Time -- 3:45 pm- Coaches' Meeting

4:00 pm- Combined JV (B&G) -- 8-12th grades

4:30 pm--Varsity Girls

5:00 pm- Varsity Boys

5:40 pm- Combined Middle School -- 6-8th grades

Awards to follow

Entry deadline- Sunday, September 24, 2017

Entries- Please submit your entries online at If you have any questions about this process, please email Tim Johnson at

Entry Fee: $55 per high school (includes both Girls and Boys teams)

$35 per middle school

$3 per person

Pay day of race or can be sent via postal mail. Please make checks payable to

John S. Battle High School Cross-Country, 21264 Battle Hill Drive,

Bristol, VA 24202

Awards- Middle School -- Top 15 boys, Top 15 Girls

Junior Varsity- Top 15 boys, Top 15 Girls

Varsity -- Top 15 Boys, Top 15 Girls

Team-Top Middle school (B&G)

Top Junior Varsity (B&G)

Top 3 Varsity (B&G)

Entries- Unlimited runners in Middle School and JV, only top 5 score. Varsity limited to 7 runners per team. Top 5 will score.

Course Information- This year's meet will be electronically scored and timed. The course will be on a beautiful grass surface with multiple inclines. Course distance will be 3.0 miles with mile markers painted on surface. Middle school will run 1.5 miles on first loop. Coaches' packets can be picked up at scores' tent. Spikes are permissible. Meet rules are governed by VHSL and NFHS. No jewelry is to be worn. The rules for legal uniform are in your states handbook or NFHS. T-shirts will be on sale.

Course Records - Girls 3.0 Miles

Maria Large 16:58 Virginia High 1980

Kathleen Stevens 17:04 Blacksburg 2009

Course Records - Boys 3.0 Miles

Fleet Hower 14:26 Marion 2001

Frankie Nunn 14:40 Virginia High 1980

Previous Champions

Individual Boys Team Champion

2007 Jakob Maidens Lebanon 15:54 Daniel Boone 59

2008 Kevin Derr Virginia High 16:52 Elizabethton 102

2009 David Laporte Elizabethton 16:25 Tennessee High 60

2010 Jon Ulrich Lebanon 16:32 Tennessee High 84

2011 Jon Ulrich Lebanon 16:27 John S. Battle 101

2012 Josh Goodman Bland County 15:59 Sullivan East 58

2013 Brad Swiney John S. Battle 15:31 Tennessee High 103

*2014 Brad Swiney John S. Battle 15:09 Auburn 85

2015 Samuel Haynes Carroll County 15:51 Tennessee High 53

2016 John Easton Lebanon 15:38 Dobyns-Bennett 48

Individual Girl Team Champion

2007 Maggie Graham Marion 19:11 Marion 49

2008 Melanie Rice Marion 18:25 Marion 69

2009 Mariah Arnold John Battle 19:45 Patrick Henry 55

2010 Tabby Arwood Lebanon 19:00 Tennessee High 72

2011 Emily Williams Sullivan Central 18:40 Sullivan Central 51

2012 Emily Williams Sullivan Central 18:47 James River 47

2013 Macy Carrier Tennessee High 18:41 Tennessee High 36

*2014 Breanna Roy David Crockett 18:18 Virginia High 82

2015 Taylor Roy David Crockett 19:46 Virginia High 57

2016 Jessey Ball Lebanon 18:56 Dobyns-Bennett 34

*Denotes Meet Record


From Interstate 81 North

Take Exit 7 and turn left at red light at bottom of the ramp. Take right at second red light on top of hill (Lee Highway).

Follow for about a mile. Sugar Hollow Park will be on left. Course starting area will be at top of Dam to the left towards the pine trees.

From Interstate 81 South

Take Exit 7 and turn right at red light at the bottom of the ramp. Turn right at next red light at top of hill (Lee Highway). Follow for about a mile. Sugar Hollow Park will be on left. Course starting area will be at top of Dam to the left towards the pine trees.

For questions contact:

Whitney Ball Tim Johnson

Cell Phone #423-502-1783 Phone- 276-608-3811

Email Email-

John S. Battle High School - Phone-276-642-5300, Fax-276-645-2386