Lady Pirates Cross Country Captures First M.E.A.C. Title

Greensboro, N.C. -- After finishing in second place for the last two years, the Hampton University Women's Cross Country squad finally captured the first Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Championship on Saturday morning at Hagan-Stone Park in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Head coach Maurice Pierce was very optimistic about this season after having very good outings against his fellow MEAC institutions in other meets on the season. With freshman Krystal Medlin (Raleigh, N.C./Southeast Raleigh HS) and sophomore Jitka Vaculikova (Prague, Czech Republic/Gymnázium StarĂ© Hĕsto HS) leading the way all season long, it was just a matter of time as to when HU would capture the first cross country title for the Lady Pirates since 1992 … Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) title on the Division II level of athletics.

Hampton University finished with a total of 41 points on the day. That is nine points ahead of two-time defending champion Howard University (50 points), and 40 points ahead of third place finisher University of Maryland-Eastern Shore (90 points). Undoubtedly the MEAC's best performer all season long, Eva Slavikova, led the way for the Lady Hawks as the top performer on the day with a time of 18 minutes and 31 seconds, on her way to being named MEAC Most Outstanding Female Performer.

Three of the next seven runners to cross the finish line were from Hampton as the Lady Pirates had all five scoring competitors finish in the top-20 on the day. Medlin led the way for the Lady Pirates with a time of 19 minutes and five second, while Vaculikova placed right behind her teammate with a mark of 19 minutes and seven seconds—leading both HU runners to place second and third respectively.

Rounding out the scored runners for the Lady Pirates was Cetera Bunche (19:49.90) finishing eighth; Eboni White (19:54.40); as well as Charmaine Darden (20:42.30). Other runners competing for the Lady Pirates were Sanyika Powell, Wogahata Haile, Maisha Pinkard, Shamara Graham and Denise Morgan.

After winning this year's title, Hampton head coach Maurice Pierce has been named as the MEAC's Most Outstanding Coach.

Women's Team Results

 1.  Hampton (41)
 2.  Howard (50)
 3.  Md.-Eastern Shore (90)
 4.  Florida A&M (105)
 5.  Norfolk State (110)
 6.  Morgan State (136)
 7.  Delaware State (169)
 8.  North Carolina A&T (246)
 9.  Coppin State (251)
10.  South Carolina State (285)
11.  Bethune-Cookman (297)